In 2008, readers were introduced to Katniss Everdeen, a young woman who literally put her life on the line to save her sister in the dystopian young adult novel, The Hunger Games.  Two more novels would be published in the series: Catching Fire in 2009, and Mockingjay in 2010.  In 2012, this trilogy, from author Suzanne Collins, ranked as the second most popular teen book series (Harry Potter was #1).  

2012 also saw the premiere of the film adaptation of The Hunger Games starring Jennifer Lawrence as Katniss.  The film grossed $694.4 million at the box office and the final two books were also adapted into films (the final book into two films).  

Collins was inspired to write the novel while watching TV and switching between reality shows and the new about the war in Iraq.  She stated that: “I was tired, and the lines began to blur in this very unsettling way.” And a novel series emerged.  

Read the full interview HERE.

The Hunger Games prequel novel, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes was released in 2020 and instantly was a best-seller.

While her name is synonymous with this series, she also has written a kid-friendly fantasy series, The Underland Chronicles, which debuted in 2003; and a children’s book, When Charlie McButton Lost Power, in 2005.

Check out her official site HERE.  

Below are some interviews with Collins where she talks about her works and her creative process.


Back in two weeks with another great author!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *